Skip to content

Remember when Freestyle DID NOT equal written raps?

October 14, 2009

This makes me smile. A lot.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Freestyle 101 with Doseone and Jel | …“, posted with vodpod

I’ve been getting my grumpy old man on for a minute when it comes to the current crop of “freestyle” MC’s and their shifting idea of what that means: spitting prewrittens, doing internet research and bringing out all types of props and skits and ish.

Call me old school but the whole point is to see who’s the dopest at the moment, right there, in real time, right? I mean my little cousin could do a google search then write an essay dissing an MC. Damn.

I’d been thinking that Mistah FAB was the only one holding things down on the freestyle side in The Town, till I came across this vid. Doseone’s a long time battle MC/freestyle vet so it’s no surprise that he’s teaching this class. The surprise is that there’s a class at all.

Props to Youth Movement Records for having the balls and good sense to green light it. I’m waiting for the next Craig G, Peace or Supernat to step up and from the sound of it, some of these kids are on their way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. subject/verb agreement permalink
    November 10, 2009 9:18 am

    this is so inspiring. it would be fun to track some of these talented young MCs, documentary-style, over a period of years to see how their stories unfold. thanks for sharing!

    • Boothism permalink*
      November 18, 2009 6:23 pm

      Yeah, kinda like a hip hop version of the Up series. I want to say someone did something similar already but the details aren’t coming to me at the moment.

Leave a Reply

