Skip to content

First MJ, now Vibe. But Vibe kinda sucked.

July 1, 2009

nowondertheyrewormfoodpng

Although I’ve gotta say that while I’m sincerely sad about the first, the second is a pure nostaligiac respect based on three things:

  1. Vibe was the 1st mag I ever bought a subscription to with my own hard  earned yout’ money (The only thing I had to show after a high school at Taco Hell, save a longstanding and unhealthy obsession with 7 layer burritos).
  2. Quincy Jones  has always been, and will continue to be The Fucking Man.  Anybody who can roll with Miles and Sinatra’s gotta command a little respect.
  3. Eff what ya heard, Daniel Smith was the best editor of any Hip Hop mag ever. EH-vah.  When I heard she was going to be back at the helm I actually considered subscribing again, for like 3 whole seconds.  Ah well, maybe this means she’ll have time to get back to blogging (her kaleidoscopic  didact rants on entertainment, politics and sports are still an inspiration. )

But other than that collective sentimentality, the reaction around the web seems to be a collective meh. Vibe’s own website doesn’t even post anything about it.  But after peeping what’s supposed to be their last cover ever, I wouldn’t be hyping that slop either.  The mag was guilty of covering the same stupid ish, by the same crop of dumb ass artists, as just about every other urban mag.  Maybe Jay Z should do a DOA remix, “Death of the Hip Hop Mag”- I know we facing a recession, but the articles ya’ll publish gonna make it a great depression…

Seems like with the exception of another newsroom crew outta work, the only person really sweating the demise is Sir Jones himself, who’s already announced he has his eye on pulling a Vibe phoenix from the flames routine sometime in the future.  One thing that I did find telling about Quincy’s statements-his push towards new media.  He tells ebonyjet.com:

“They just messed my magazine all up, but I’m gonna get it back. You better believe it, I’m’a take it online because print and all that stuff is over.

Looks like you can teach an old dog new tricks.  I’m just hoping one of those new tricks is actual good taste in music.

Sidenote-While the above graphic is a fitting requiem, I actually tried to find a Vibe copy from back in the day when they didn’t suck.  I found nothing online.  Yeah, they’ve been kinda stank for a while now…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

