Skip to content

A poem a day…

June 14, 2009
tags: ,

Three Oddest Words

When I pronounce the word Future,
the first syllable already belongs to the past.

When I pronounce the word Silence,
I destroy it.

When I pronounce the word Nothing,
I make something no nonbeing can hold.

Wislawa Szymborska

Yes, I admit it. I’m a poet, and there doesn’t seem to be a cure for it.

As long as I can remember it’s been there-an insane fascination with words, how they can mean and the hidden truths that poetry can uncover. And while I know this will piss some people off I still maintain that poetry is the purest form of writing.

Sonia Sanchez reads at the New Jersey Public Library

Sonia Sanchez reads at the New Jersey Public Library

Regardless of the form, style or lack thereof, poetry can act as a vehicle for self and social observation in ways not commonly found in fiction, essays or journalism.

Poetry has the ability to mine deep down to the really dirty shit. Those ideas and feelings that might not make make it into everyday conversations, but make up the basis of who we are as individuals and as a culture. Idealistic? Probably. But doesn’t the best art spring from larger than life ideas?

So in addition to the tech, culture, and all the randoms posts that have and will be showing up in this space, I’ll be making a more conscious effort to include more poems, video and audio, poetry news, collaborations and criticism. I’ve started posting daily poems over on my Twitter feed and will be archiving them here. Here’s the first set. If you have any recommendations or suggestion shoot me a message.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

