Skip to content

Young? Gifted and Black…and Avant Garde?

May 16, 2009

Kalup Linzy “Chewing Gum” & “Dirty Trade”

So thinking back on last week’s post I really started questionning the young/avant garde parts of the title. Don’t get me wrong, I love all the cats on the list, but I’m not sure I’d classify them all under that banner again.  I mean Oxbow alone’s been making audiences uncomfortable for over 10 years, Spooky and the Fellinis for damn near the same amount of time. And while Greg Tate (in this week’s post) and his Burnt Sugar crew are have been giggin (as far as I know) for less than 10 years, Tate’s been putting literary and artistic smackdown on the industry for damn near quarter of a century.

So with that in mind, and seeing how in some ways pulling out a list of at least half old school artists only echoes Morgan Craft’s  sentiment in the original article, I’m giving myself a new mission: to find the most out there, “cutting edge (it’s early, and it’s the 1st desctiption that came to me)” diaspora artists out there.  Check back every so often and see who I dig up.  But until then, some mo’ favorites:

Flying Lotus

Carl Hancock Rux

Chocolate Genius/Marc Anthony Thompson

Burnt Sugar Arkestra/Greg Tate


Muhsinah

The Younger Lovers


Saul Williams

Theo Parrish

Lightspeed Champion

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

